Coverart for item
The Resource Lifelines, Heidi Diehl

Lifelines, Heidi Diehl

Label
Lifelines
Title
Lifelines
Statement of responsibility
Heidi Diehl
Title variation
Life lines
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"For fans of Meg Wolitzer and Maggie Shipstead: a sweeping debut novel following an American artist who returns to Germany--where she fell in love and had a child decades earlier--to confront her past at her former mother-in-law's funeral. It's 1971 when Louise leaves Oregon for Düsseldorf, a city grappling with its nation's horrific recent history, to study art. Soon she's embroiled in a scene dramatically different from the one at home, thanks in large part to Dieter, a mercurial musician. Their romance ignites quickly, but life gets in the way: an unplanned pregnancy, hasty marriage, the tense balance of their creative ambitions, and--finally, fatally--a family secret that shatters Dieter, and drives Louise home. But in 2008 she's headed to Dieter's mother's funeral. She never returned to Germany, and has since remarried, had another daughter, and built a life in Oregon. As she flies into the heart of her past, she reckons with the choices she made, and the ones she didn't, just as her family--current and former--must consider how Louise's life has shaped their own, for better and for worse. Exquisitely balanced, expansive yet wonderfully intimate, Lifelines explores the indelible ties of family; the shape art, history, and nationality give to our lives; and the ways in which we are forever evolving, with each step we take, with each turn of the Earth"--
Assigning source
Book jacket
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Diehl, Heidi
Index
no index present
Literary form
novels
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Germany
  • Mothers-in-law and daughters-in-law
  • Family secrets
  • Americans
  • Funeral rites and ceremonies
  • FICTION
  • FICTION
  • FICTION
  • Americans
  • Family secrets
  • Funeral rites and ceremonies
  • Mothers-in-law and daughters-in-law
  • Germany
  • Divorced people
  • Funeral rites and ceremonies
  • Artists
  • Oregon
Label
Lifelines, Heidi Diehl
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1045461714
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
320 pages
Isbn
9781328483720
Lccn
2018036017
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1045461714
Label
Lifelines, Heidi Diehl
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1045461714
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
320 pages
Isbn
9781328483720
Lccn
2018036017
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1045461714

Library Locations

    • McCracken County Public LibraryBorrow it
      555 Washington Street, Paducah, KY, 42003, US
      37.0841169 -88.5988375
Processing Feedback ...