Coverart for item
The Resource Scrublands, Chris Hammer

Scrublands, Chris Hammer

Label
Scrublands
Title
Scrublands
Statement of responsibility
Chris Hammer
Title variation
Scrub lands
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "In the vein of The Dry and Before the Fall, a town's dark secrets come to light in the aftermath of a young priest's unthinkable last act in this arresting and searing debut thriller. In Riversend, an isolated rural community afflicted by an endless drought, a young priest does the unthinkable, killing five parishioners before being taken down himself. A year later, accompanied by his own demons from war-time reporting, journalist Martin Scarsden arrives in Riversend. His assignment is simple: describe how the townspeople are coping as the anniversary of their tragedy approaches. But as Martin meets the locals and hears their version of events, he begins to realize that the accepted wisdom--that the priest was a pedophile whose imminent exposure was the catalyst for the shooting, a theory established through an award-winning investigation by Martin's own newspaper--may be wrong. Just as Martin believes he's making headway, a new development rocks the town. The bodies of two German backpackers--missing since the time of the church shootings--are discovered in a dam in the scrublands, deserted backwoods marked by forest fires. As the media flocks to the scene, Martin finds himself thrown into a whole new mystery. What was the real reason behind the priest's shooting spree? And how does it connect to the backpacker murders, if at all? Martin struggles to uncover the town's dark secrets, putting his job, his mental state, and his life at risk as more and more strange happenings escalate around him. For fans of James Lee Burke, Jane Harper, and Robert Crais, Scrublands is a compelling and original crime novel that marks Chris Hammer as a stunning new voice in the genre. A compulsively readable thriller of the highest order, Scrublands never loosens its grip, from its opening scene to the very last page"--
  • Welcome to Riversend, an isolated Australian community afflicted by an endless drought. A young priest kills five parishioners before being taken down himself. The story is that the priest was a pedophile whose imminent exposure was the catalyst for the shooting. A year later, accompanied by his own demons from war-time reporting, journalist Martin Scarsden arrives to describe how the townspeople are coping with the anniversary. When the bodies of two German backpackers-- missing since the time of the church shootings-- are discovered in a dam in the scrublands, Martin finds himself thrown into a whole new mystery. Uncovering the town's dark secrets will put his job, his mental state, and his life at risk. -- adapted from publisher info
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1960-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Hammer, Chris
Illustrations
maps
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR9619.4.H3434
LC item number
S37 2019
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Mass murder
  • Droughts
  • Sparsely populated areas
  • Journalists
  • Murder
  • Australia
  • FICTION / Suspense
  • FICTION / Thrillers
  • SUSPENSE
  • Droughts
  • Journalists
  • Mass murder
  • Murder
  • Sparsely populated areas
  • Australia
Label
Scrublands, Chris Hammer
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1052905724
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Atria Books hardcover edition.
Extent
368 pages
Isbn
9781501196751
Lccn
2018041467
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
map
System control number
(OCoLC)1052905724
Label
Scrublands, Chris Hammer
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1052905724
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Atria Books hardcover edition.
Extent
368 pages
Isbn
9781501196751
Lccn
2018041467
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
map
System control number
(OCoLC)1052905724

Library Locations

    • McCracken County Public LibraryBorrow it
      555 Washington Street, Paducah, KY, 42003, US
      37.0841169 -88.5988375
Processing Feedback ...