Coverart for item
The Resource The girl in the castle, by Santa Montefiore, (Large Print)

The girl in the castle, by Santa Montefiore, (Large Print)

Label
The girl in the castle
Title
The girl in the castle
Statement of responsibility
by Santa Montefiore
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • Castle Deverill, nestled in the rolling Irish hills, is home to flame-haired Kitty Deverill. Her best friend is Bridie Doyle, the daughter of the castle's cook. Jack O'Leary, the vet's son, is always reminding Kitty that she isn't fully Irish; Bridie is jealous of Kitty's wealth and glamour. When the Irish revolt begins Jack enlists to fight, and Kitty throws herself into the cause for Irish liberty. Their lives are wrenched apart by betrayal, and when Castle Deverill comes under attack the only home Kitty has ever known is threatened
  • International sensation Santa Montefiore presents the first book in a trilogy that follows three Irish women through the decades of the twentieth century--perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Hazel Gaynor. Born on the ninth day of the ninth month in the year 1900, Kitty Deverill is special as her grandmother has always told her. Built on the stunning green hills of West Cork, Ireland, Castle Deverill is Kitty's beloved home, where many generations of Deverills have also resided. Although she's Anglo-Irish, Kitty's heart completely belongs to the wild countryside of the Emerald Isle, and her devotion to her Irish-Catholic friends Bridie Doyle, the daughter of the castle's cook, and Jack O'Leary, the vet's son, is unmatched--even if Jack is always reminding her that she isn't fully Irish. Still, Jack and Kitty can't help falling in love although they both know their union faces the greatest obstacles since they are from different worlds. Bridie cherishes her friendship with Kitty, who makes her feel more like her equal than a servant. Yet she can't help dreaming of someday having all the wealth and glamour Kitty's station in life affords her. But when she discovers a secret that Kitty has been keeping from her, Bridie finds herself growing resentful toward the girl in the castle who seems to have it all. When the Irish revolt to throw over British rule in Southern Ireland, Jack enlists to fight. Worried for her safety, Jack warns Kitty to keep her distance, but she refuses and throws herself into the cause for Irish liberty, running messages and ammunition between the rebels. But as Kitty soon discovers, her allegiance to her family and her friends will be tested--and when Castle Deverill comes under attack, the only home and life she's ever known are threatened. A powerful story of love, loyalty, and friendship, The Girl in the Castle is an exquisitely written novel set against the magical, captivating landscape of Ireland
Member of
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1970-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Montefiore, Santa
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR6113.O544
LC item number
G57 2017
Literary form
fiction
Series statement
  • Wheeler Publishing large print hardcover
  • Deverril chronicles
Series volume
#1
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Women
  • Ireland
  • Large type books
  • Large type books
Label
The girl in the castle, by Santa Montefiore, (Large Print)
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
  • "Originally published in [sic] Songs of Love and War in Great Britain in 2015 by Simon & Schuster UK Ltd." -- verso
  • "P.S. insights, interviews & more ..." pages 673-697
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn963230994
Dimensions
23 cm.
Edition
Large print edition.
Extent
699 pages (large print)
Form of item
large print
Isbn
9781410497970
Lccn
2016051992
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9781410497970
  • (OCoLC)963230994
Label
The girl in the castle, by Santa Montefiore, (Large Print)
Publication
Copyright
Note
  • "Originally published in [sic] Songs of Love and War in Great Britain in 2015 by Simon & Schuster UK Ltd." -- verso
  • "P.S. insights, interviews & more ..." pages 673-697
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn963230994
Dimensions
23 cm.
Edition
Large print edition.
Extent
699 pages (large print)
Form of item
large print
Isbn
9781410497970
Lccn
2016051992
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9781410497970
  • (OCoLC)963230994

Library Locations

    • McCracken County Public LibraryBorrow it
      555 Washington Street, Paducah, KY, 42003, US
      37.0841169 -88.5988375
Processing Feedback ...